Mark Driscoll and Mars Hill Elders: Betrayers of a Trust

And then, there is the environment that has been fostered in Mars Hill.

Shut Up & Do What You’re Told

Drink the Kool Aid

PH knows many (mostly former) members who were leveled for respectfully, but vigorously expressing either doubt or dissent with the way that the firing of two beloved pastors was handled. These members were betrayed by the leadership that they had previously chosen to trust. Many of these members were previously not even on MH radar, as their many years of membership history had demonstrated them to be what would be considered “model members.” The members that reaped the devastation during these times were not “immature Christians” as the Elders of MH have tried to portray. Many were, in fact, mature Christians with proven track records in ministry leadership that surpass Mark Driscoll in time and quality. (Despite their never having fostered a “mega-church.) PH would think that an outcry from this demographic would be taken very seriously by leadership within a church body.

Are the men who perpetrated or ignored such betrayal qualified to be Elders?

12 Responses to Mark Driscoll and Mars Hill Elders: Betrayers of a Trust

  1. julia says:

    well,as the attorney referenced in the “Kool Aid” clip, I can only say to reallysad1:”nice editing.” Actually…not so great,in that my heart hurt once again upon seeing it.

    PH did a nice job of characterizing the members whose trust was betrayed by MH leadership, though I do not consider myself to be among the cream of that crop. (My husband is, however,so maybe we can apply a little covenant theology to boost me a little. 😉 )

    Regardless of elder opinion, or the resulting consequences to us,I believe now as much as I did then that we made our posts under the guidance and direction of our Lord. If I am mistaken, may He show me my error.

    The betrayal that I felt when the Pastor that I had chosen to trust, (and had gone to bat DEFENDING even in some of his less brilliant moments) trashed me publically has been no small thing. The pastors who know me know that I love Mark, and would never have made such a post without some significant thought and prayer.

  2. Will says:

    Had not heard of this before. Sorry you had to experience this. It was petty, in-your-face, reprehensible, and certainly worthy of a rebuke. Once one feels he can get away with things, without checks, it will grow. In a rightly-functioning plurality of elders, he would simply have been called on it the first time he tried it; and thus been helped to keep his sinful tendencies out of the pulpit… to his great benefit and to all who hear him.

  3. julia says:

    Is not first time, by a long shot. Have since heard of many examples. Obviously, unless God shows him how harmful it is, it will continue. You see, he does it in such a way that it comes of cute…even funny. In our culture, we have come to idolize speakers that entertain. Mark is a very entertaining speaker – how can his methods be wrong?

    If you want to hear more…check out the “Humility” sermon that was preached on November 4, 2007, I believe. Many folks were trashed that day…humbly of course. I know of about 6 that chose not to receive communion that night because they knew that they needed to get their attitudes in line first.

    Note the self-effacing comments at the beginning, thus setting the stage with his humility. Of course the lessons on humility following such a humbling of himself would be sanctified and humble, right?

  4. Julia says:

    Oh…looks like I got the Humility sermon date wrong…is in November somewhere.

  5. stephanie says:

    Thanks for writing about this.

  6. Stacey says:

    I find it ironic that a movement (Calvinism) that began by rejecting authority and denying the validity of any central authority in the Church also set up its elected elders as absolutely unquestionable once they are in place. This dates back to Calvin’s earliest days.

  7. What’s up, after reading this remarkable piece of writing i am too delighted to share my knowledge here with colleagues.

  8. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll
    settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will share
    this site with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  9. Hello! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does running a well-established blog like yours require a lot of work?

    I am completely new to running a blog however
    I do write in my diary daily. I’d like to start a
    blog so I can share my personal experience and feelings
    online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog owners.
    Thankyou!

  10. Nice answers in return of this issue with solid arguments and explaining everything concerning that.

  11. Rule #4 – Do Stabilizing Movements from the Pushup Position.
    For a speedy withdrawal of fat, avoid all “white” carbohydrates such as
    bread, pasta, cereal and potatoes. ” If this happens, weight loss will slow down and it will become more and more difficult to maintain a healthy weight.

  12. Those that supply a differing view from that of the normative one or who are perceived as having little or no affect or value to the group are shortly marginalized by their mob of sycophantic worshipers. They’re sycophantic because of they suppose in that little tiny a part of their mind that properties reason that she was proper and the overwhelming majority of people in the country assume the same. We’ve got more giant-display screen tellies and so forth than earlier than but work among the many longest hours in Europe and have among the highest charges of crime, poor mental properly being and teenage being pregnant – all indicators of inequality.

Leave a Reply

